Tags

, , , ,

“You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world.” Marianne Williamson – ‘A Return to Love’

Life is by nature a business. We are everyday trading through the decisions we make. This is more commonly referred to as opportunity cost – the value of the alternative that is forgone. For instance if you have to choose between practicing your craft and not doing so, the opportunity cost is the consequence.

When it comes to life, it is not a question of whether you are going to trade (because you will) but whether the trade makes you happy or bigger than the alternative forgone (which is what counts).

A decision not to study, invest, work your plans, eat healthy, commit to excellence, care for customers, love your spouse, etc. has consequential outcomes that are far more detrimental to your resolve to live a purposeful life.

Every time you make or don’t make a decision, you trade. The most critical element, therefore, is what you are getting in return. Does it make you happy? Is it worth the effort?

Here are 7 questions To help you achieve clarity in ascertaining what you may be trading as you begin to make future plans :

  1. What do I really want in my life?
  2. Of these, which are more important to me?
  3. What is the purpose of attaining them?
  4. How do I get them?
  5. What skills will I need to achieve them?
  6. How much time and commitment am I ready to offer and see my plans through to achievement?
  7. What else am I ready to sacrifice in order to reach my desired plan?

Your priorities determine what you trade. Never trade your top priorities for anything else. Misplaced priorities are more often than not a great source of discontent and frustration.

